top of page

How Quarantine Changed Soccer

By Sharla Vitell


I still do the usual while getting ready for soccer practice. I put my shin guards and cleats on and I fill my water bottles, but now I also bring hand sanitizer and a mask with me. Going to practice is the same in that I still grab my bag, my phone, and hop in the front seat, but it’s different because my Mom doesn’t swing by my teammates’ houses to pick them up anymore. Now she just drives me to practice.  

When going to soccer practice before, we had to be 15 minutes early, but now we have scheduled time frames of when I should be dropped off and picked up. Also, there is a parking lot system with, designated and separate drop off and pick up parking lots so that there is no overlap of players. When getting to the field you have to put a mask on, have your temperature taken, and use hand sanitizer. You also have to give aAnd a thumbs up to a parent alerting them you’re okay to stay.

Before there was no check in process, you just went to where your coach was on the field. Now when you’ve finished the check in you go to the coach that is assigned to coach you for the day. There was ano limit to only ten players on the field and you would put your bag at a cone six feet apart from the rest. Then you would go to your assigned square which was six by six feet and in between each square was six feet. While waiting for other teammates to show up you would juggle for a bit. 

Practice started out with a couple of jogs then some sprints. Then we would work on footwork. Then play some games. Water breaks were different as you can imagine. The squares are lined up the closest square with a person in it goes to the bags would then go so on and so on. Going back was the opposite, the farthest away from the bags would go first then so on again.  

It hasn’t changed much, but we don’t have to stay in squares now and we can pass the ball and share equipment. Water breaks are different; everyone now just goes to their bag. There are also stations now which include passing and moving and a variety of different games depending on the week.

Leaving practice you just put your mask back on and go to your car, but the time when we were practicing in squares we had to go back to our bags the same way of getting water, but then just leave. 

During the three months of not playing Soccer because of Quarantine it was horrible and miserable and I would and still do take COVID-19 soccer over no soccer at all because everything and everyone about soccer just makes my day a whole lot better. To finish off I really enjoy playing soccer and especially sense quarantine Ayso United region 300 has done a phenomenal job of keeping everyone safe and in good shape. 



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page